Meet the NYC Geeks! John D’Arcangelo (Mel Tyler)

John D’Arcagelo (Mel Tyler) with Meredith Owens (Kerry). (Photo by Rocco Vitacco)

Look! Up in the sky! It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s John D’Archangelo! Who stars as has-been TV actor Mel Tyler. Let’s get to know him a little better.

Q: Who is your favorite Superhero?
John: My mom. She died when I was 22, but she never left me.

Q: What is your favorite Sci-Fi/Fantasy movie?
John: Forbidden Planet. Loved Robbie the Robot.

Q: What has been your favorite part of the Geeks experience up until now?
John: The amazing people I am playing with. I am in constant awe of their talent and willingness to put up with my struggles with Musical Theater.

Q: How do you relate to your character? How are you different from your character?
John: I sometimes feel like a “has-been”. Poor, struggling actor. Sometimes remembering some past glory days. But I am different in that I was never really a star to start with, and I love ever minute of the struggle.

Q: If you could sit down to dinner with the characters from one show on Broadway right now, who would it be and why?
John: Evita, I guess. It is one of my favorite musicals and would love to pick their brains, and also to chat with Ricky Martin about a million things.

Q: What is your dream role to play on stage?
John: Would love to tackle Edna Turnblad in Hairspray. I already played George in Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf, which was very hard and a dream at the same time. Would like to try it again.

Speed Round!

Star Wars or Star Trek?
Star Trek because it is my childhood and I was in love with Captain Kirk, and the stories were more important than the special effects.

Kirk or Picard?
Kirk, hands down. More like the swashbuckle type of captain of sea-faring days. (Like Captain & Comander)

Ewoks or Jar Jar Binks?
Ewoks. They just so cute, yet fearless and brave.

Zombies or Vampires?
Vampires because they are sexy.

“All in the name of Universal Justice!!!”

Leave a Reply

