Meet the NYC Geeks! Meredith Owens (Kerry)

She’s just a girl at Comic Con. Meredith Ownes as Kerry scares the boys: Adam T. Biner, Jason Spina, Khallid Graham. (Photo by Rocco Vitacco)

She’s just a girl who can’t say no… to comic books! Kerry is the Femme Geektale of GEEKS THE MUSICAL and she is played by the lovey Meredith Owens. Let’s find out what makes her geek clock tick.

Q: Who is your favorite Superhero?
Meredith: The pink Power Ranger. The original. Her name was Kimberly. Also–the Ninja Turtles. They made that cartoon pizza look so delicious.

What is your favorite Sci-Fi/Fantasy movie?
Jurassic Park. And anything Tim Burton or Pixar. I’m a big fan of any animated movie. Aaaand horror movies–LOVE me some Zombies.

Q: What makes you a geek?
Meredith: My ability to obsess and geek out over many a TV show/movie that involves anything ridiculously fantastical. It’s crazy what the imagination can create. Also, I love Zombies so much. Guess that makes me a geek–and I’m proud of it!

Q: What has been your favorite part of the Geeks experience up until now?
Meredith: Working with the cast and creative team! They have made this experience SO MUCH FUN!!! Not to mention I love getting to actually wear my own glasses and chucks and be nerdy and goofy onstage. This show is SO much FUN!!! Did I mention how much fun I’m having?

Q: How do you relate to your character? How are you different from your character?
Meredith: Kerry has a sweetness and naivete about her that I love and can surely relate to–I guess I’m different in a big way, because, um, I hope I don’t get fired, but, um….I have never seen a single Star Wars film. But I did my research, i swear. :o)
(I’d make a comment here, but I just passed out. -Editor)

Q: If you could sit down to dinner with the characters from one show on Broadway right now, who would it be and why?
Meredith: Oh my goodness, this is really hard–I think I’d have to say Peter and the Starcatcher. The ability of that group of storytellers, working together so intricately to put on that show every night–it was just thrilling to watch. They are a machine!! I’d LOVE to hear about that rehearsal process and see how different the show is every night.

Q: What is your dream role to play on stage?
Meredith: The Baker’s Wife in Into the Woods. I’ve had the chance to play her once, but would dig into that role over and over and over again.

Speed Round

Star Wars or Star Trek?
Hmm–Star Trek

Ewoks or Jar Jar Binks?
Jar Jar Binks
(I’d comment here, too, but I passed out again. -Editor)

Marvel or DC?
Gonna go with Marvel–was a fan of the X-Men at one point…

Zombies or Vampires?
Zombies 100% all the time.

Come geek out with Meredith and the rest of the GEEKS! crew this weekend at the Richmond Shepard Theatre. Previews Thursday. Opens on Friday. Be square, be there!

One thought on “Meet the NYC Geeks! Meredith Owens (Kerry)

Leave a Reply

