Meet the NYC Geeks! Zachary Conner (Jordan)

Zachary Conner (Jordan) finds love on the dealer room floor with Meredith Owens (Kerry). (Photo by Rocco Vitacco)

And the head of our merry little band of Geeks is Jordan, played by the delightful Zachary Conner. Let’s learn more about our chief geek.

Q: Who is your favorite superhero?
Zachary: Superman

Q: What is your favorite Sci-Fi/Fantasy movie?
Zachary: Alien

Q: What makes you a geek?
Zachary: My undying love for anything and everything Smallville makes me a Geek. I can’t think of anything that is displayed with more love and pride in my apartment than my DVD collection of every season.

Q: What has been your favorite part of the Geeks experience up until now?
Zachary: Eli Bosnick plays Chip in the show and is an improv genius. I haven’t laughed as hard in recent history than when the two of us bounce ideas off one another during scene work. Rick has given us a good amount of freedom to explore moments in the show, which has made the entire experience incredibly fun.

Q: How do you relate to your character? How are you different from your character?
Zachary: Jordan and I are similar in that we both are a little neurotic. Obviously Jordan’s outbursts are a little more extreme than mine, but I definitely identify with some of his behavior. I’d like to believe I’m a little more sly when it comes to approaching someone I’m interested in, but I don’t know if it’s fair for me to judge that myself.

Q: If you could sit down to dinner with the characters from one show on Broadway right now, who would it be and why?
Zachary: Definitely the characters from Once. Preferably, I’d like to walk in on them having a jam session, like in the number “Gold”. That way I could just be that creeper in the back of the room with my feet up, eyes closed, and having a genuine emotional moment listening to them make beautiful music. It would be a delightfully cathartic experience.

Q: What is your dream role to play onstage?
Zachary: Younger Brother from Ragtime. Hands down. If not for the role itself, then for the fact that I would have the privilege of listening to that score every performance. Give me a couple of years. It WILL happen.

Q: Ewoks or Jar Jar Binks?
Zachary: Is it weird that I think Ewoks are incredibly freaking cute? If it wouldn’t mean enslaving a member of it’s own independent race and nation, I would totally have one as a pet. I mean, look at that face!

Geeks! opens this weekend! Come meet these fun, geeky folks. Be square, be there.

Leave a Reply

